Cheongdamdong Alice

Well it was bound to happen.  I watched a nice streak of really good dramas and then along came a dud.  I really wanted to like this one, as it stars Moon Geun Young, who is one of my favorite kdrama actresses, however, I just couldn’t reconcile with the ever mounding mediocrity as the show dragged on.

tumblr_mf5dqqbJGK1qcna5po1_1280

So where do I start?  Well, I guess the first glaring reason that it never captured my full interest is the plot itself.  I just could not connect with it on any level.  Now I have watched some shallow kdramas in my day with not much more to offer than the mild amusement of an ever spinning wheel, but this one might take the cake.  I mean, there just wasn’t a solid leg to stand on.  The girl fell in love with him when she thought he was poor, so she wasn’t even really a gold digger, so what’s the big deal?  And even if she was a gold digger, if the two of them fell in love who cares?  I don’t know, all of the drama just seemed pointless.

images

And then there is the major turn off of Cha Seung Jo the male lead having small penis syndrome.  Between his ridiculously weak and girly reaction to his first break up and his constant daddy issues I just couldn’t find him man enough to even be attractive in any way.  This may stem back to my personal skepticism of psychology and the over-diagnosis of psychological disorders in general, but that’s a whole different issue altogether.

tumblr_mhbhi8CLLV1qbivu7o1_500

Overall, I am not going to recommend Alice as a show to watch, though I’m sure there are people who enjoyed it.  For me it was an eternal snore (and I literally fell asleep every time I turned it on) with lack luster characters and plot.  I give it a 2 out of 5.  Hopefully I’ll have better luck with my next drama!!

4 thoughts on “Cheongdamdong Alice

  1. I completely, completely agree. This show just felt like a waste of time…(even if I did watch all 16 episodes). I had the good fortune to go from this hot mess to Thank You, one of the best dramas I’ve ever seen. You should give it a try—it’s incredibly good.

Leave a Reply

