Delightful Girl Choon Hyang

After the disaster that was Big, I swore to myself that I would never watch another Hong Sisters drama. However, on a whim I decided to break that promise to myself, and surprisingly I don’t regret it. Delightful Girl Choon Hyang was the best drama I have seen in quite some time, easily making my top five. sassy-girl-chun-hyang1 I have been asking myself “What makes this drama so special?” and I believe I have narrowed it down to 3 main elements, the first being Choon Hyang herself. Too many recent dramas have helpless, ditzy female leads that seem to not be able to stand on their own two feet. Choon Hyang however, is quite a formidable woman. Comparable to my favorite female lead Go Eun Chan of Coffee Prince, Choon Hyang comes from a poor single parent household. She attends high school, is the top of her class, and still manages to work several part time jobs to save up for her own college tuition. She is mostly cheerful and positive despite all her challenges. Though I hate that ultimately she is not able to pursue her education and ends up being another designer, in this case of accessories.   Delightful_Girl,_Chun_Hyang4The second element is the actual presentation of the drama. In all actuality the the plot is not so different from other dramas of the time, in fact it is very similar to Goong (minus the royal element). However, they give the show a fun and playful vibe with all the quirky humor, asides, and special effects. It often had the feel of a comic book, and in some ways had the same feel as the recent American movie, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. For a long time fan of anime, comic books, and manga like me, this was a perfect fit.

0324_sassy_tThe third element is the dynamic between the leads. Instead of constantly brooding ( which don’t get me wrong they do their fair share), they are playful and light hearted and Mong Ryong doesn’t force Choon Hyang to be anything but her strong and independent self.

Delightful+Girl+Choon+Hyang

Overall, though Delightful Girl Choon Hyang had many of the same plot devices as other dramas (conniving second leads, meddling mothers, and giant misunderstandings) it’s all the little details and the likability of the leads (not to mention Mong Ryong’ s father who is awesome) that set this drama apart and make it, well an utter delight to watch. I give it 5 of 5 stars!

11 thoughts on “Delightful Girl Choon Hyang

  1. Aww, I want to watch this one! Very soon, since it’s now on DramaFever 🙂

    Also, I started A Gentleman’s Dignity this afternoon. We’ll see how it goes. So far, it’s in ‘meh’ territory for me. But definitely not bad at all.

  2. This drama … I cannot express how much I love this drama. It was the drama that got me hooked onto kdrama, I fell in love with the characters as soon as they hit the screen.

    Regardless of it’s cliches (one that I didn’t recognise, what with MDGCH being my second drama) I didn’t mind it and even till now I don’t.

    I loved it then and I still do now.

  3. Ohh…I had just almost decided to rewatch Coffee Prince (its been a lousy week and I need a pick-me-up), but maybe I should go with this show instead? It sounds great.

  4. I am watching it now and it really is a cute story line. Can’t wait to see what happens next! Thanks to you and Amanda from Outside Seoul for recommending it.

    • This was definitely one of the most fun dramas I’ve ever watched. There are some dramatic parts, but none of it feels really heavy, and that was a refreshing change from what I’ve been watching recently. I also just really love Choon Hyang, she was a pretty neat chick 😛

  5. Well, I did finish it, and while I didn’t fall in love with it, it was very cute. I really like all the main actors. You’re right about Choon Hyang being a pretty neat chick. But I think Mong Ryang was a delicious morsel! His face could change into so many different expressions!

  6. Haha, I was just writing today about how I couldn’t watch ANY drama after Big, but I’ve heard this was good too, I’m gonna watch this the next break I get!

Leave a Reply

