Converting Americans to Kpop One Impressionable Child at a Time

So you guys have heard me talk about how I’m such a weirdo amongst my friends because only one of them understands my kdrama obsession, and she is just plain out too busy to watch the sheer amount of television that I unfortunately find myself partaking in.   I have no real world friends to talk to about what I spend way too high a percentage of my life doing, which is why I started a blog in the first place.  However, as much as we are all probably sick of Psy and his iconic song Gangnam  Style, he has opened a door with young people that was tightly shut before. I happen to have a student who is particularly obsessed with that song, and coincidentally also obsessed with One Direction, who is a very sub-par boy band in my opinion.  So today I struck up a conversation with her about the fact that Korea has tons of boy bands, most who sing and especially dance much better than her oh so beloved One Direction.  I usually give my classes a chance to earn some free time at the end of the class if they have worked hard and followed directions, so during this time I showed her a Big Bang video.  The second she saw G-Dragon she started squealing about how hot he is and played the video over and over again.  At the end of the school day she came to me and showed me that she had already downloaded the song to her phone and was going to share it with her best friend when she got home.  It made me realize how much influential power we have as teachers, and also that I am super excited because I now have someone to talk to about at least some aspect of Korean pop culture.  Now to introduce her to kdrama….

bigbang

11 thoughts on “Converting Americans to Kpop One Impressionable Child at a Time

  1. I love it! I’ve totally converted my 11-year-old niece into a k-pop and kdrama fan. I even took her to the Big Bang concert in Anaheim in November (she was my justification for going >.>).

  2. Most excellent. America needs more VIPs. XD I have fun seeing my influence reach even beyond my direct line of initiation. For instance, piano students of my husband has begun listening to Kpop due to my husband’s recent conversion too – I believe he also uses the end of some of his class time to show them random MVs. Btw, which video did you show her?

  3. All my sisters and friends think I’m a freak for my Kdrama obsession. 😦 I can’t help myself, though. They are sooo good! So much better than most of the stuff in the US. I wish I had someone to share my passion with, too. Thank goodness I can read your blog and dramabeans.

    • Haha!! Yeah that’s why I got into blogging in the first place. It’s really nice to be able to share your hobby with other people. When I start talking about it to my friends they just look like “Oh geez not again…”

  4. Korean dramas are great, and I’m really starting to love the music, too. I’ve gotten my four oldest daughters hooked on the shows and now we’re converting the babysitters, too. I wish we could see a Kpop concert in Denver. 🙂 I like your blog.

      • We decided to just make our own, lol. We homeschool, but the oldest 7 of our nine kids attend a one day a week program for homeschoolers. They are between the ages of 6 and 12 and are going to do a “flash mob” of Oppa Gangnam Style for the school talent show next month!

Leave a Reply

