Hana Yori Dango

I watched this drama on Drama Crazy.

So when I was watching Hana Yori Dango, it felt a little nostalgic because the main idea was still the same as Boys Over Flowers (of course since they are based on the same manga), but the feel of the show turned out to be very different from its Korean successor. I will be honest, though it is wildly popular, I have never been a huge fan of BoF.  It was just too ludicrous and dripping with excess in every way.  So why did I spend probably close to 30 hours of my life watching it? Two reasons;  First, it is an all time kdrama classic, and second the plot was actually pretty addicting if you could get over all of the extra filler that made it just so irritatingly cliche and superficial.

This is really a huge piece in the puzzle of why I loved Hana Yori Dango so much and did not care for BoF.  Hana Yori Dango, though two seasons long and considerably lengthier than the 3 other Jdramas I have seen, is still much shorter than BoF.  There are only 20 episodes instead of 24, and each episode is only 45 minutes rather than an hour and 10 minutes.  This left them less time to add little caviats such as people almost drowning and being rescued (like 5 times), random trips to islands for rich people, and supposively dead fathers miraculously coming back to life.  I was perfectly okay without all of the added nonesense.

 

Though the plot was still and will always be in any form somewhat juvenile and cliche, it is still fun and appeals to that hidden girly desire for Cinderelladom and forbidden love.  I loved Minako’s character in HYD, she was a spit fire, and though she needed a little help from time to time, was far from a damsel in distress, and was definitely no dummy.  I loved that for once, the male lead was portrayed as the dopey airhead instead of the female lead.  Each of the F4 members had their flaws, but were very likable in their own way.  Rui was my personal favorite.  Instead of being the constantly brooding and pitiful second lead, he was a truly loving and supportive friend to both Minako and Tsukasa (though not always perfect, he always came around).  He stood on his own two feet and was his own person rather than just pathetically following Minako around because he needed her to be happy.

 

I really did enjoy HYD.  It appealed  to the little girl inside of me.  I will be re-watching BoF soon and will watch the movie of HYD and will probably read the manga as well in order to write a comparison post between them later down the road that is more in depth than what I have mentioned today.  But overall, I would give Hana Yori Dango 4 out of 5 stars.  Definitely worth a watch if Cinderella stories are your thing 🙂

For a plot summary and list of the cast, visit http://wiki.d-addicts.com/Hana_Yori_Dango.

 

20 thoughts on “Hana Yori Dango

  1. I always said that BOF was a murdered version of this drama, I was never able to get into it I simply loved this version way too much,*maybe that’s a bit too harsh?,lol* But I though this was a good drama and like you said she didn’t have to be saved like almost every episode, and like you II liked not I loved Rui oh god oguri shun(?) is one of the few japanese guys I find sexy and I found him even sexier in Hana Kimi,lol

  2. I’m actually contemplating marathoning this before we do BOF next weekend…
    Your Rui character (Oguri Shun) is the lead in Hana Kimi 2007, and omg he’s totally dreammmmy. Enjoy!

    • P.S. He’s part of the reason why I really want to watch HYD now.. I also just watched him in Rich Man, Poor Woman… *drops dead in drrreamy land*

    • OMG!! Do it!!! I’m curious to see if you like it better than BoF. Yay!! I am literally going to start watching Hana Kimi now. I saw like 30 seconds of it earlier, but then my husband’s parents got here for his bday dinner, but I was so excited that it was Nobuta!! And now I find out Rui is in it too? There’s just no way this can be bad…

      • Ha ha, it will take me probably a week to watch it because I am unfortunately very busy with work lol. I watched the first episode last night though and I see what you mean about it having a different feel from TTBY. However, it is not really following the manga any more closely than TTBY at this point (except for the added parental drama in TTBY, you know it can’t be a kdrama without some parental drama right? lol). I will say though that TTBY takes a huge turn away from the manga at the point where they go on that little mini-vacation thing where they are helping that lady fix up her place.

  3. You pinpointed all the reasons why I think HYD is WAY better than BoF, and I liked BoF when I first watched it. After watching HYD, though, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to watch BoF again. I also liked the way the J-drama seemed to make more sense than BoF sometimes (or a lot of times). There were instances in BoF where the plot was so loosely strung together that I was like, wait, how in the **** did they get to point B from point A?

  4. “It was just too ludicrous and dripping with excess in every way.”

    If ludicrous and dripping with excess is wrong, I don’t want to be right 😉 Everything you said in this post is completely true, but I still can’t help loving BoF. I haven’t seen them yet, but I also want to watch the Taiwanese versions—apparently they’re like the unholy love child of the Korean and Japanese takes.

    • I refuse to watch Taiwanese dramas. I already have 2 countries I’m following now and I’ve heard Taiwanese dramas are as bad as Spanish Novellas lol. If you love melodrama I’m sure that’s awesome, but if you’re like me and you definitely have your melodrama limit then it sounds like a nightmare.

  5. You know, I’ve never watched a Jdrama. I’ve heard things about the Taiwanese dramas, but I’ll be honest, I’m not sure on what the similarities and differences of the different cultures’ dramas are. 🙂

    • I am not familiar with Taiwanese dramas, and from what I’ve heard about them I don’t think I need to watch them. But Japanese dramas tend to have a really loud and in your face sense of humor when they are funny and they get to the point a lot faster than kdramas.

      • Hehe.. the few I’ve watched… or at least the last one was puuuure melo all the way.. almost into the region of ‘I’m uncomfortable watching this’ melo.. I can’t always do it. But some days I’m just really in the mood for it. I wouldn’t recommend them to you though. If some day I find an awesome funny one, I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

