Currently Watching-TTBY, Arang, and One Fine Day update

TTBY

  • I am getting to the point of total obsession with this show.  I definitely bought the first 3 volumes of the Hana Kimi manga and have started reading it.
  • I miss Eun Gyul’s old hair.  It was cute and quirky like him.
  • There are so many CP references in this show I have lost count lol, but I love that they pay homage to the greatest drama ever :).
  • I think I am so into the characters now that I felt like I was stabbed in the heart when Eun Gyul walked in on Tae Joon and Jae Hee sleeping in the bed together.
  • Ugh I hate kdrama spoiled brat girls.  All I can think of right now is Uee in You’re Beautiful.
  • I thought the doctor was just kind of metro and they were making him seem like he had a man crush on Jae Hee’s brother just to be funny, but it turns out in the manga he is like flaming gay and very open about it, so I guess he is in the Korean version as well, just a little more subtle.  So that makes him, chapstick kid, and then sort of Eun Gyul lol.

Arang

  • I love the part where they start to first realize their feelings.
  • I’m sorry, but creepy fiance guy is just not attractive to me.
  • I wonder what is special about Moo Yong besides him being the Reaper?
  • Those were some crazy awesome action scenes in episode 10.  Lee Joon Ki really can kick some butt!

One Fine Day

  • So all I can say is wow…. I didn’t think it was possible to fit so many racial stereotypes, overdone k-drama cliches, and terrible action scenes into one episode.  As  much as I love Gong Yoo, I am not going to lie,  it was pretty much one of the worst first episodes I’ve ever seen, but because it is starring Gong Yoo I am going to try and keep watching to see if it gets better.
  • I wish they would get rid of his awful wannabe mustache thing.  It makes him look like a creeper…

10 thoughts on “Currently Watching-TTBY, Arang, and One Fine Day update

  1. (Eyes averted to anything about Arang)
    TTBY: I have to say, it’s getting better and worse. For the better: I’m a little more invested in romance now. The bed scene.. glorious, and MinHo has livened up a bit as an actor in his new “ahh I care about you” role. The worse: You’re Beautiful plot-device/character-types. *gag* You know, I hate to accuse a drama of being a copycat when it’s based on a manga, and it’s now the 4th drama remake of said manga.. but seriously? Beyond Hana Kimi, has this show thrown us one good original thing? I guess you can call it paying homage to Coffee Prince, You’re Beautiful, I think I’ve even seen a little Secret Garden, and of course it’s following every Kdrama Law down exactly! I don’t know.. maybe I want too much. It just seems a hodge-podge of everything that came before it, without being unique enough to make me really like it.

    • I really can’t argue with that since it’s true that it’s following all the cliches of the previous teen and girl pretending to be boy dramas, that’s why I keep saying I’m surprised at myself for liking it so much. But there is a charm and underlying sunshiness for lack of a better term about TTBY that makes it so likable for me. It has played many of the common teen drama angles but in a way that is less end of the world dramatic and more cutesy and satirical. This drama is so light hearted that it is constantly poking fun at other dramas and itself, and that makes it satisfying in a “today I just want to smile and feel warm and fuzzy” way. And to be quite honest, so far it has followed the manga fairly closely from what I’ve read with only a few small details being changed. The manga was written in 1996, before any of the “copied” dramas came out. So it honestly makes me wonder if all of those dramas were actually copying hana kimi.

  2. I’m assuming that Hana Kimi 2007 followed the manga pretty closely, with one major, notable exception in the backstory – all this I only read about. You’ll soon be able to verify this for us! And so far, TTBY seems to have departed radically from the style/feel of 2007’s adaption. If I hadn’t known, I might have thought it was completely Korean in origin. Beyond the basest storyline, they’re almost incomparable.

    I do agree that’s it’s all light and fluffy and happiness-inducing though, as much as I criticize it on a technical level. Honestly, I may tell myself I’m watching this because all of you are too… But I’ve dropped a fair few popular Kdramas for lesser reasons… But with this… I too just want some fluffiness. Maybe I can borrow Lettace for an afternoon. I think that dog sums up my feelings on this show: cuddly, cute, and I wish he had more screen time. 🙂

    • Thus far it has followed it pretty closely with only little differences like the location of where things happened and stuff like (and they added in that dorm athletic competition) that but all the main plot elements have come straight from the manga. But I have only read up until right before that first big track meet. But I’ll see how far it veers off as I read further.

    • Thus far it has followed it pretty closely with only little differences like the location of where things happened and stuff like (and they added in that dorm athletic competition) that but all the main plot elements have come straight from the manga. But I have only read up until right before that first big track meet. But I’ll see how far it veers off as I read further.

      Oh and they did add the thing about his mom dying, at least that hasn’t been mentioned in the manga so far. That is a very Korean touch lol.

  3. FYI, I’m the only person in the world who actually liked One Fine Day. It reminded me of the trashy V.C. Andrews novels I read as a kid—but you’re totally right about it being incredibly bad. And Gong Yoo’s mustache! Gross. Especially with your aversion to crazy melodrama, you should probably drop it sooner rather than later 😉 It only gets more derivative and over the top as it continues. The best part was seeing Gong Yoo speaking so much English in episode 1.

    And I’m still on board the TTBY bandwagon, too. The cute is enough for me to overlook pretty much any flaw. Also, check this out. I might try to read a some, too.

    • Oh no.. it’s online?!?!? What are you doing to me?? And here I was thinking there was no way I’d spend money to feed my manga curiosity!

    • Yeah I made it through episode 2 before I gave up on One Fine Day lol, I am watching Himitsu now, whish is awesome in a dark angsty and twisted way lol.

      Thanks!! I feel like such a pirate but that will save me a lot of money….

  4. I love how they’re still doing Eun Gyul’s imagination scenes. They just kill me! I love that he imagined that they might have just shared the bed because they were exhausted after a pillow fight. Ha!

    I totally agree about creepy fiance guy. He definitely doesn’t make my heart race.

Leave a comment