Padam, Padam

I watched this drama on Hulu

This drama was utterly mind boggling in more ways then one.  First, the intensity of emotion is in high gear and it was a very raw, gritty, and realistic feeling drama.  It’s so funny because judging by the intro you would think it was all butterflies, rainbows, and unicorns, but in reality it was totally the opposite.  There’s fighting, lots of blood, murder, imprisonment, cursing, well you get the idea…  The love story is absolutely beautiful, and even though it is filled with kdrama cliches, they present them in a way that is much less annoying, I wish I could describe why, but right now my brain is fried and I can’t quite put my finger on it.

 

One of my favorite parts about the drama is that it has a crazy time bending supernatural element to it.  Throughout the show you have to really pay attention to what’s going on or you will get lost really quickly because things can drastically change in an instant.  They really mess with your head with premonitions and going forward and back in time to give second chances.

 

I absolutely adored the two male leads in this drama.  Yang Kang Chil had an awkward roughness yet honesty about him that was totally endearing.  Jung Woo Sung really made that character come to life with signature mannerisms, style of speech, and facial expressions that I haven’t seen in any other kdrama character.  He was just plain out fun to watch and he had a depth to his character that is rarely seen.  Kim Bum as Lee Gook Soo… oh what can I say about this character?  This character is like up there with Choi Han Gyul and Go Eun Chan for me.  I loved him that much!!  First of all he was the perfect angel (and I mean that in a literal sense) as far as looks go.  Absolutely freaking gorgeous!!  Like really, how does Kim Bum not worship himself in the mirror all day, I would!!  But besides being a pretty face Gook Soo was eccentric yet lovable and extremely passionate.  He could be the most gentle, loving, and encouraging person one moment, and then turn around and be bitter and vengeful with the intent of murder in his heart the next.  I loved this about him, he was passionate to the extreme, throwing all his heart and soul into every emotion he felt.  I also loved that he was so non-chalant about being a super natural being.  He was just like “Yeah I’m becoming and angel, cool huh?”

 

The bond between Yang Kang Chil and Lee Gook Soo was one of the most endearing parts of the show.  They had like this amazing inseparable friendship that was even closer then family or real brothers.  Amanda, I couldn’t remember if these two were on your list of kdrama bromances that should be consummated, but they would be number one for me!!

 

I also must make a short random note of the vast amount of shirtless sexy man scenes in this drama, more than I’ve seen in any other *dools*.  I have nothing but love for Padam, Padam and I defy someone to watch it and hate it (although I’m sure there has to be someone out there).    5 out of 5 stars!! 🙂

I got the following info from http://wiki.d-addicts.com/Padam_Padam…_The_Sound_of_His_and_Her_Heartbeats

Details

  • Title: 빠담빠담… 그와 그녀의 심장박동소리 / Bba-dam-bba-dam… Geu-wa Geu-nyeo-eui Sim-jang-bak-dong-so-ri
  • Also known as: Padam Padam
  • Genre: Romance, fantasy
  • Episodes: 20
  • Broadcast network: jTBC
  • Broadcast period: 2011-Dec-05 to 2012-Feb-07
  • Air time: Monday & Tuesday 20:45
  • Original Soundtrack: Padam Padam… The Sound of His and Her Heartbeats OST

Synopsis

“Padam” which means ‘to thump’ in French is a mellow drama about a man who lived life according to its own course but meets a woman he shouldn’t love and about his breathtaking love for her.

Yang Kang Chil just came out from prison after 16 years. He was jailed because of a murder he never did. After released from prison, he goes to Seoul accompanied by his guardian angel, Lee Gook Soo. Meanwhile, Han Ji Min will play Jung Ji Na, a cheerful veterinarian who loves Kang Chil. —KoreanDrama.org

Cast

15 thoughts on “Padam, Padam

  1. I think the cliches in this drama seem so palatable because they’re presented so realistically—it’s not just that some birth secret is revealed and then the story goes on, it’s that some birth secret is revealed and the dad is ambivalent and the kid is outraged. That rings so much more true than the standard “Oh, no…your dad is my dad! We can’t get married!” kind of Kdrama makjang.

    Also, the lovely, lovely Kim Bum might have something to do with it 😉

  2. Hi! New to your blog, but I ran across it when I was looking up famous Kdrama tropes for a personal ongoing list. 🙂 I think I’ll try this one next. I’m right in the middle of Sungkyunkwan Scandal right now.
    PS- I really liked your post: “If Pride and Prejudice was a Kdrama”. You should make that an ongoing series. It’s very clever!

    • I loved Sungkyunkwan Scandal!!

      Thanks 😛 I want to write more “If_________ Were a Kdrama” posts, but I have been uber busy lately because I just started a new job. But I will definitely get back around to it eventually!!!

  3. I do write books, but I don’t know if YA fantasy is your thing? I’m actually writing a romance series based on my love of Kdramas right now, under a different name. The first is a Forced Cohabitation story along the lines of “9 end 2 Out” and “Personal Taste”.
    Look forward to reading your new posts. 🙂

  4. Haha. Sorry, I forget not everyone is a goodreads addict. YA= young adult. Personal taste was so great, but there was some stuff at the end that was a little out of whack for me. Like, her DAD? He shows up out of nowhere for 2 episodes and then just disappears again?? But the chemistry between the two characters was so great! And that kiss! 😉

  5. Wow, P&P zombies has a graphic novel? So cool! I’m reading Alice 19th (Lotis Master) and an old fave, Nana.

    Writing takes more time than patience, and if you’ve read my blog, you’ll know that my youngest and I are currently duking it out for that time. hahaha

Leave a Reply

