My first Jdrama-Nobuta Wo Produce

I watched this drama on http://www.dramacrazy.net

Watching a Jdrama was interesting because I grew up watching loads and loads of anime.  It was nice to hear the Japanese language again and to see Japanese humor.  One thing that was kind of funny for me is that Nobuta Wo Produce was very much in the style of an anime (it was probably based on a manga, but I haven’t looked that up yet), yet it was with live people.  In an anime there are always some wacky and really over the top characters that are greatly lacking in what we would consider normal social skills.  But anime is animated, so it’s easier to accept it because they are cartoons.  It was very different  and a little hard to get used to at firist to see these kid of wacky cartooony characters portrayed by real live people.

Nobuta wo produce was very different from a kdrama in that its central focus was not a romantic story.  It was about a very different kind of love, friendship.  It focused on three teenagers and how their lives changed for the better because they met each other and formed an unlikely bond.  There were times when the show was so profound that it left me speecheless, which I did not expect originally with it being a teen drama with goofy cartoony characters.  But I should have known from my years of watching anime, that the Japanese give everything their own artistic flare and can make something as small as a falling leaf profound.

As a teacher I work with preteens and teens on a daily basis.  I see the everyday struggle to fit in, to feel loved, and to be accepted.  It is a dog eat dog world, and without the right friends who truly support and love you it can be hell on earth.  I thought this drama was very touching, and a refreshing change from some of the more superficial romantic plots I have seen in more recent kdramas.  I give Nobuta Wo Produce 5 out of 5 stars!!

I took the following information from http://wiki-d-addicts.com

Details

Synopsis

Kiritani Shuji is the popular guy who gets along with everyone, from the jerks to the nerds to the just plain weird. The one person Shuji cannot stand is Kusano Akira.  To Shuji, Akira is just plain annoying. He laughs, talks and acts funny. Things heat up when a new student comes to school.  Her name is Kotani Nobuko, a girl who has no self confidence at all and is content at being made fun of and bullied in school.  Shuji and Akira come to an accord that in order to make use of their youth they will produce Nobuko as the next popular girl. One of the conditions, however, is that nobody should find out that they are working together as a team to make this concept possible. Unveiled here is the story of true friendship between three unlikely candidates who would not have been friends if not given the special circumstances.

Cast

Correlation Chart

Class 2B (name register order)

2 thoughts on “My first Jdrama-Nobuta Wo Produce

  1. I want to to watch this drama every day.. if that were possible.. I’m still depressed by how short it is, comparitively, but somehow in its length it encompasses all things perfect. Siiigh

    • Yes Nobuta Wo Produce is definitely one I could rewatch. I like the length of the two jdramas I have seen. They are shorter because they cut out all the filler and unnecessary plot circling that many kdramas tend to have.

Leave a Reply

