I Need Romance 2012

I watched this drama on Hulu

I wasn’t too sure about this before starting because when I tried to watch Dream High 2 it was an utter disaster, but INR 2012 is just as good and in some ways better than its predecessor.  It was a much more serious drama, and had less goofy womance and random sex scenes and make out sessions than the original.  The main plot was more intricate and better executed, with both the male and female leads being very interesting characters.  I honestly missed the more goofy womance scenes and did not find myself getting as a attached to the supporting female characters (new Charlotte and new Samantha).  I feel that they really spent a lot of time developing the main plot and the lead characters so the subplots and supporting characters suffered a little, but it was okay because the main storyline was so good.

The main character Joo Yeol Mae is the woman I wish I could be.  She is artsy, talented, free spirited, intelligent, honest, and strong willed.  I think that I always prefer the stronger female characters, because I myself tend to be a people pleaser and end up as a doormat so I feel frustrated while I am watching characters like that because I see myself in them.  But it is fun to watch characters like Yeol Mae because they are what I aspire to be one day and I can admire them form afar until I one day reach my goal (I sound like such a creeper right now lol).  I would watch this show over and over again just to see her in action, and she has some really amazing lines, in fact the entire dialogue of this show is just much better written than a lot of the newer dramas out there that are just oozing with cheese and recycled chivalry.  Though I find her to be a little odd looking (but definitely more normal in this drama), Jung Yoo Mi blows me away as an actress, and damn does she know how to pick her roles.  The 2 dramas and the one movie I have seen her in have all been winners (Maybe YEH needs to take some lessons from her in drama/movie choice so she can show her potential again).

I was also really into the male lead character Suk Hyun.  I am a sucker for the broody bookworms.  I love that they didn’t make him the cliche kdrama talented artist who is a prickly, conceited, jackass, he was actually very warm and caring most of the time, just very secretive and you could tell he was masking a lot of pain and trying to keep people at a distance.  I thought Lee Jin Wook did a really good job portraying him as well.

Overall, I feel like this drama definitely had the formula for success great plot+well developed characters+great actors=awesome drama.  It’s as simple as that, I give it  5 out of 5 stars!!  I am so relieved to have watched a few good ones recently after a string of kind of boring and mediocre ones!!

I took the following information from http://wiki.d-addicts.com

Details

  • Title: 로맨스가 필요해 2012 / Romaenseuka Pilyohae 2012
  • Genre: Romance, comedy
  • Episodes: 16
  • Broadcast network: tvN
  • Broadcast period: 2012-Jun-20 to 2012-Aug-??
  • Air time: Wednesday & Thursday 23:00
  • Related TV Shows: I Need Romance

Synopsis

Joo Yeol Mae (Jung Yoo Mi) gets entangled in a love triangle between her long term boyfriend, Yoon Suk Hyun, (Lee Jin Wook) and a new love interest, Shin Ji Hoon (Kim Ji Suk).

Cast

8 thoughts on “I Need Romance 2012

  1. After hearing all sorts of awful things about Kdrama sequels (the second Goong was apparently terrible, just like DH2), I wasn’t expecting much from this one, either. Yay for being pleasantly surprised! I can see why people think the female lead is funny looking, but I think she has such an expressive face. She can convey everything she’s thinking in one glance without being cartoony. She’s almost, dare I say, YEH-y.

  2. Huh, I saw the lead actress in Korean film recently (In Another Country)- but I had no idea who she was (not surprising). She had very little screen time, but she was really endearing from the start. I think I might start this if she’s awesome as you say!

    • They’re not really related – just vagely similiar (so I understand). I watched the first one a few months ago and it was amazing. Just as soon as I finish Playful Kill and Time Between Dog and Wolf – up next! INR 2012! Wooo!

    • I would watch them both just because they are both awesome and fun to compare. However, they are not directly related so you don’t have to. The only thing you will miss is a quick refernce to 2 of the old characters in one scene and a cameo by one of the actresses from the original show.

Leave a Reply

