Protect the Boss

I watched this drama on Hulu

Protect the Boss was a pleasant, easy to watch drama.  It did not stand out in my mind as a favorite, however it did have its really good points.  I loved that the lead female character was a strong and capable woman who was unafraid to speak her mind or kick someone’s ass when she needed to.  However, the male lead started out as completely helpless and incapable, which was  a major turn off for me and for whatever reason I could never really get attached to his character, so it was hard for me to get super into the main love story.  Another great aspect of this drama however, was that instead of trying to kill each other the whole time, the  first and second female lead characters actually eventually befriend each other and the friendship between them and another girl is one of the most endearing parts of the show.  It has a very happy and sweet ending (gotta love kdrama weddings), and it definitely had a lot of hilarious moments.  I honestly got pretty bored around episode 9 and didn’t really pick up interest again until the second to last episode.  I really feel however that this has something to do with the fact that I am so in love with A Gentleman’s Dignity and have been anxiously awaiting the last two episodes (darn Olympics!! lol).  And though Protect the Boss was very cute, it is no AGD.  So my overall rating, 3.5 stars out of 5.  If you’re looking for an easy to watch rom-com this is a winner.  I am pulling the synopsis and cast list off of http://wiki.d-addicts.com because I am feeling lazy lol (sorry about being lazy on the synopsis lately, I will start writing the more detailed ones again soon).

Synopsis

No Eun Seol finally gets a job as a professional secretary at a large conglomerate after struggling with unemployment, only to fall in love with her boss, Cha Ji Heon, the immature youngest son of a chaebol family.

Cast

7 thoughts on “Protect the Boss

  1. I kind of agree with you on this one. While it was singularly refreshing to seeing something different, I never became invested in the romance. It was almost like their love triangle/square was playing second lead to the rest of the plot. I enjoyed the growing friendships the most. Icecream and Wrestler Girl, and the bromance was kind of awesome. The guys having a cat fight under a table cloth is absolutely priceless! I became a little bored midway through though. This isn’t a show that will leave me with any lasting impression.

Leave a Reply

