Big-A Painfully Frustrating Journey

This show’s first two episodes were dynamite and hooked me so hard that I thought  I was going to die while waiting for new episodes to air.  I thought the Hong sisters had finally written a 5 star drama (I’m not generally a huge fan of theirs).  I think I just had such high expectations for it because Gong Yoo is an incredible actor and quite possibly the sexiest man to ever walk this earth (You can tell I am a huge fan of his :P), and because the first few episodes actually had a complicated and unpredictable plot and it was so refreshing to not know what was going to happen next.  However, the show took a sharp dive in the middle, around episode 8 and started to drag painfully slowly and circle and circle until I was dizzy.  I think the Hong sisters had this  grand idea for an overarching plot, but bit off more than they could chew because they did not know how to fill in all the little details and have the plot move forward without circling back again. It was frustrating to watch because they could have done an amazing job with this because they set up so many different avenues that they could have followed, but they chose to just drive back and forth down the same damn road.  The ending was a big fat disappointment that was slow and left a million questions unanswered.  It was at least happy, but clearly lacked the suspense and power of the first few episodes.

Gong Yoo practically naked makes the first episode totally worth watching. Had to put this pic up for obvious reasons 😛

Another beef I had with this drama was Da Ran’s character.  The female lead was frustratingly dense and cowardly to boot, with no particularly fun or interesting characteristics whatsoever.  In fact, I thought she was about as interesting as watching paint peel.  In contrast to her however, the male lead character Kyung Joon was full of life and funny, but he had Gong Yoo playing up the role, and we all know that he does not half do any part.  Maybe it was because of the contrast between the personalities of the chracters, maybe it was because Da Ran was as stiff as a board, or maybe it was because Lee Min Jung is a closet lesbian, but the two actors did not have much passion in the chemistry at all.  It all seemed perfectly well mannered and rehearsed, and well, just as boring as Da Ran herself.  I mean in the episode where they have their Big kiss, Gong Yoo is like eating her face off and she is just there.  Her lips are pressed against his with absolutely no movement.  I mean, I’m so sorry, but if it were me, acting or no acting, I would be throwing it right back at Gong Yoo, I mean good Lord,  have you seen that man?  I think just touching his hand would give me and orgasm… TMI anyway…

 

What lesson have I learned from watching this?  Never have too high of expectations from the Hong Sisters, even if they have talent like Gong Yoo on their side.  However, despite Big being a huge let down after the first few episodes, I have definitely seen worse dramas, and it is worth watching just to see Gong Yoo work his magic as Kyung Joon and the little brother of Da Ran, Choong Shik is infectiously goofy and fun to watch (I hope to see that actor in other dramas soon).  Overall I feel it is worth a watch, just don’t get your hopes up too much from the get go.  Sadly, I give it a 3 out 5 (sorry Gong Yoo, you are fabulous!!  Don’t work with the Hong Sisters again, you are too good for them!!)

This pic is soo cute!! Too bad the chemistry is better on this pic than it was most of the time on the show 😦

Cast (Yes, I swiped the cast list off of asianwiki.com lol :P):

Big-Gong Yoo.jpg Big-Gong Yoo1.jpg Big-Lee Min-Jung.jpg Big-Bae Suzy.jpg Big-Jang Hee-Jin.jpg
Gong Yoo Gong Yoo Lee Min-Jung Bae Suzy Jang Hee-Jin
Yoon-Jae’s body+Gyung-Joon’s spirit Seo Yoon-Jae Gil Da-Ran Jang Ma-Ri Lee Se-Young
Shin Won-Ho Big-Kim Hyun-Sung.jpg Big-Ko Su-Hee.jpg Big-Ahn Seok-Hwan.jpg Big-Yoon Hae-Young.jpg
Shin Won-Ho Jang Hyun-Sung Ko Su-Hee Ahn Seok-Hwan Yoon Hae-Young
Kang Gyung-Joon Kang Hyuk-Soo Lee Gyung-Mi Gil Min-Gyu Lee Jung-Hye
Big-Baek Sung-Hyun.jpg Big (Korean Drama)-Im Ji-Eun.jpg Big (Korean Drama)-Kim Seo-Ra.jpg Big (Korean Drama)-Jo Young-Jin.jpg Big (Korean Drama)-Mun Ji-Yun.jpg
Baek Sung-Hyun Im Ji-Eun Kim Seo-Ra Jo Young-Jin Mun Ji-Yun
Gil Choong-Sik Kang Hee-Soo An Hye-Jung Seo In-Wook Na Hyo-Sang
Big (Korean Drama)-Choi Ran.jpg Big (Korean Drama)-Shin Ji-Su.jpg
Choi Ran Shin Ji-Su
Kim Young-Ok Lee Ae-Kyung

 

Synopsis:

Gil Da Ran is an aspiring teacher who meets Dr. Seo Yoon Jae by chance under very unusual circumstances.  Yoon Jae, who was her Dr. after an accident, begins dating Da Ran and then asks her to marry him.  However, his reserved nature leaves Da Ran wondering whether or not he is truly in love with her.  During this crisis of the heart, Da Ran happens to meet and begin to get to know a transfer student from America, Kang Kyung Joon, who is transferred to her school and is put in her class.  Before Da Ran can find out whether her fiance Yoon Jae loves her or  not, Kyung Joon and Yoon Jae get into a car accident together and switch bodies.  Yoon Jae is left in Kyung Joon’s 18 year old body, which is lying in a coma, while Kyung Joon is in Yoon Jae’s 30 year old body.  Things begin to change between Da Ran and Kyung Joon as Kyung Joon takes on Yoon Jae’s persona and together they begin to uncover the mysteries surrounding him that he is not awake to answer…

6 thoughts on “Big-A Painfully Frustrating Journey

  1. Where do you watch these episodes so fast? I’m still waiting for DramaFever to put out Ep 16 – though I’m not really looking forward to it. I had to force myself to watch Ep 15 in fast-forward mode. Less painful that way, and only took about 20 minutes. Ick.

    • I watch them on viki.com. They usually have them up and fully subbed by like 9:00 or 10:00 at night after they air. And if they are not fully subbed by then, they always are the following morning. You have to deal with annoying commenters though.

      You didn’t miss anything with 16. It was a snore and a half. In fact, I had to go back and watch it again because I fell asleep for the last part. The last episode unfortunately is not much more exciting.

  2. Let’s be realistic here: to not have smoking hot chemistry with Gong Yoo, Big’s female lead must be an *alien*, not a lesbian. How could any human being not get quavery in the knees at the thought of being close to him? (Although, of course, we must suspect that Gong Yoo would actually be up for an alien, based on one of his previous dramas.) Too bad, Big. Here’s hoping this doesn’t scare Gong Yoo back to the movies…even in Big’s darkest moments, it was nice to know that he would be appearing on my tv twice a week.

    • Yeah I don’t know if she’s a robot, or an alien or what lol. (Love the CP reference BTW :P)

      He’s such a popular actor, I’m sure another writer will be able to talk him into doing another drama if they offer him enough money lol.

  3. Wow.. I don’t even know what happened here… forget me trying to make a commentary on the ending – I just don’t understand? It doesn’t… make… any… sense… to me… ??? I’m not even mad about it.. I’m just confused.. why on earth can’t people learn to write a decent plot? Is it really that hard? Because I think I could do that.. It’s simple, folks! Did they want more episodes, and just didn’t get them, so they ended it so dumb like that? I’m going to bed. My head hurts.

    On the bright side today!! I started watching Coffee Prince today with my husband, his sister, my friend and her boyfriend – and they all loved the first episode so much that tomorrow night they’re going to return and DO A MARATHON SQUEEEEEEEEEAALLL!!!!!!!! Because I need to wash my brain with a younger Gong Yoo. 😛

    Also, if you haven’t seen this picture from DramaFever’s facebook page – you should!
    http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/photo.php?fbid=10151012673751961&set=a.10150307649226961.330192.60878026960&type=1&theater

    • Yeah the ending was dumbfoundingly bad. I don’t know what they were smoking when they thought that would be a good ending.

      That’s exciting!! I’ve gotten a few of my friends and my husband to watch it with me before too and it’s always awesome to have someone to share it with, and awesome just to have a chance to watch it again 🙂 I think Gong Yoo did the best he could with Big, it’s not his fault it was so terrible. I hope the next drama he is in is AMAZING.

      That pic made me laugh lol 😛

Leave a Reply

