Learning Korean

I just embarked yesterday on my long journey of learning Korean.  I purchased the Rosetta Stone Etotal program because there is nowhere the offers classes in Korean near me.  Now I have heard mixed things about this program from different people, but after spending hours and hours on it yesterday and today, I will say that so far my opinion is that if you are willing to try hard and take notes and repeat lessons when you know you don’t have things down pat yet it is an effective program.  Really, it’s like the old saying “You get out what you put in,” it’s cliche, but it’s very true.  I have already learned tons of new vocabulary and I am beginning to learn the basics of the grammatical structure, which will make it easier to pick things up while I’m watching my kdramas.  I have not used these features yet, but the Etotal version has games that you can use to practice skills either by yourself or with others, you can also talk to conversation partners online (Koreans who are trying to learn English), and there are online tutors that can give you lessons via webcam.  So essentially, it is a distance learning program as well.  I can’t use these features until I am a little further along, but I am super excited for when I can.  One of these days I will be able to watch my dramas without subs….

13 thoughts on “Learning Korean

  1. Props to you. I went through every free online site that supposedly teaches Korean, before buying a textbook, which fortunately has an online listening exercises, vocab, narration, etc. I’ve completed Chap 1. Which means I can officially say: I am Sara. Nice to meet you. I am American. Hah. I can also understand just about every one/two-liner kdrama conversational phrase. Now I just need to download something that allows me to type in Korean. Want to practice sometime with me?

    Incidentally, have you ever seen the videos “Korean Drama Phrases?” Youtube it. The phrases are hard, but absolutely hilarious!

    • Rosetta stone doesn’t start with introduction phrases other than goodbye and hello. It starts with common vocabulary, learning to read and type the alphabet, and understanding pronunciation and basic grammar. So I know all the primary colors and a bunch of random vocab like man, woman, girl, bike, cat, dog, etc. It teaches you a lot of the common verbs right off the bat too like eat, drink, run, walk. I’ve gotten to the point where is expects me to be able to say some whole sentences like “This is a red ball,” or “The children are running.” Lol.

      Yes, when I get to the point where I can actually type words I would love to practice!! I have heard of the Korean Drama Phrases videos but I haven’t watched them yet.

  2. Good for you for taking on a challenge like this. The thought of leaning Korean is crazy daunting, but I really do suspect that lots of drama watching can only help. I’m learning words practically against my will 😉

    If only my obsession with Kdrama had started about a year earlier—I actually used to work at a place that produced Korean language learning materials, and could have had everything I wanted for free =X (I never got involved in that segment of the business, though, so none of it rubbed off.)

    • Aww man that would have been awesome!! I am thinking that I am going to have to buy a grammar book to study along with the Rosetta Stone program. It doesn’t directly explain things, it uses the natural “approach” of just showing you pictures and then speaking at you in Korean lol. Which works pretty well for picking up vocabulary, but I am having a hard time just inherently understanding the grammar, like I can get where parts of speech go, but understanding when to use the different word endings is tripping me out, and from what I understand their verb conjugation is different from ours, plus they have the form/informal thing.

  3. I have Rosetta Stone for Korean too, but I find I can’t use it alone or it gets boring… I love the “Talk to Me In Korean” website 😀 It’s free too. The only problem with that, though, is that it takes a long time to listen to their lessons over and over, haha. I feel it offers more than Rosetta Stone, though. They make worksheets for the lessons and you can talk to them and stuff like that.
    I guess the only thing I liked more in Rosetta Stone was that you can use the microphone to test your voice.

    LiveMocha was good, and similar to Rosetta Stone, (it’s free too), but there were too many mistakes in the lessons at the time, so I gave it up. I mean, it’s pretty bad when someone who only knows basic Korean can notice the mistakes :[ But they have a microphone test and let’s you talk to native speakers too.

    • Yeah I plan on using a variety of different stuff along with Rosetta Stone because know there are some things that will be hard to learn with just that. I bought a book called “500 Korean Verbs” yesterday and it teaches you how to conjugate in the beginning of the book and also has a chart of how to conjugate each of the 500 verbs. Thanks for the websites, I will definitely check them out!!

Leave a Reply

