Day 27 of 30 Day Kdrama Challenge

Day 27 of the 30 Day Kdrama Challenge is “What is a kdrama that is loved by many, but you did not like?”  I have talked about this drama on another day where the topic was “What is a kdrama you finished but didn’t like?”  But this is the best answer I can think of and that is Boys Over Flowers.  There is a gigantic fanbase for this drama, which is really why I chose to watch it.  I thought “Well if so many people like it I will probably like it to,” WRONG!  It was torture for me trying to make it through that drama.  However, I do understand the appeal for a lot of people because it is full of angst and break ups and make ups.  It just really didn’t fit my personal preference for a drama.  The clothes they wore were weird and so was the way they did their hair a lot of the time.  I couldn’t handle seeing guys wear so match girly make up either lol.  It was just to dramatic, juvenile, and it just went in circles over and over again.  I feel like it was like a teenage Spanish Novella, except Asian ha ha.  The one good thing that came out of me watching it was that I was introduced to Kim Hyun Joong(I called him blondie when I watched BOF lol), and because he was my favorite character on BOF and I was curious about seeing him play a male lead I watched Playful Kiss and I really liked it.  Don’t ask me why I like Playful Kiss and not BOF because they are both rich boy meets average girl teeny bopper dramas lol.  I think it’s just the difference in the tone.  Boys Over Flowers was way over the top dramatic and while Playful Kiss had its dramatic moments, it wasn’t as crazy and unbelievable as BOF.

2 thoughts on “Day 27 of 30 Day Kdrama Challenge

  1. I like to pretend sometimes that I’m not superficial – but, disregarding the antics of this show, which were seriously annoying, Lee Min Ho’s haircut was a good part of the reason why I couldn’t stand BOF. Couldn’t they have blended his multi-colored highlights a little better? There were a lot of other reasons too. For instance, playing your (in-script probably) thousand $$ violin outside And in the snow.. no self respecting musician would EVER do that to their instrument. That’s the second reason why I couldn’t handle BOF. Let me list the things I Liked about BOF.. oh wait, sorry I can’t do that. I have none.

  2. Oh my God yes!! His hair was so ridiculous!! He had those weird Shirley Temple curls that no self respecting man should have lol. And I was so shocked when I saw him in Personal Taste because he looked so normal and grown up, but I was very relieved that he was a man after all ha ha. I’m the same way, I finished it because I though maybe at some point it would get better, but I just didn’t care for it at all.

Leave a Reply

