Day 7 of 30 Day Kdrama Challenge

Day 7 of the 30 Day Kdrama Challenge is “What is your favorite line from a male lead?”  Yet again because of my love affair with Coffee Prince, my favorite line from a male lead comes from Gong Yoo as Han Kyul.  When I watch this particular scene, I always hold my breath and my heart starts beating a little faster and then I just feel all these crazy emotions surging up in me.  Yes, it sounds utterly cheesy and ridiculous for me to get so into a TV show, but what can I say?  I am a girly girl and I have a lot of feelings lol.  If you are a very passionate person about everything like me, you probably feel this way too if you have seen all the episodes building up to this moment in the drama.  So for those of you who have not seen the drama for yourself, before I share the line with you, I will give a little summary of what’s been going on before he says it so you can fully appreciate the gravity of it.  Go Eun Chan is a girl who is pretending to be a boy so she can work at Choi Han Kyul’s coffee shop.  She desperately needs the job to support her mother and younger sister  because her father has passed.  Han Kyul begins to fall in love with her, but is unaware that she is a girl, so his emotions are raging up and down and he can’t figure out whether he wants to be close to her because he loves her or be mean to her and push her away because he doesn’t want to face the fact that he is gay.  Eun Chan is also in love with Han Kyul and sees what he is going through, but is still afraid to tell him she is actually a girl because she is afraid he will be too angry with her to forgive her and she will lose him altogether.  She is also riding an emotional roller coaster because of her guilt and because Han Kyul’s actions towards her are hot and then cold, hot and then cold again.  When this scene happens, Han Kyul has been purposefully going out of his way to be nasty and cold towards Eun Chan for a while because he has decided to drive her away so that he doesn’t have to deal with the complications of loving a man.  He fights with her at the coffee shop and then leaves, but after seeing how hurt she is he begins thinking and he cannot stand it any longer, so he comes back to the coffee shop, doesn’t say anything at first, just grabs her and then starts kissing her for the first time.  And what a kiss it is!!  Man!!  And then right after he says, “I love you.  I don’t care if you’re a man or an alien anymore.  Let’s go through with this and take it as far as we can go.”  Holy cow!!!  My heart just bursts every time I watch this scene!!  I have never seen a more beautiful and romantic scene in any movie or TV show ever in my whole life.  What a declaration!!  So there you have it, my favorite line from a male lead.  I will post a link to the clip of this line below.

http://www.dramacrazy.net/korean-drama/coffee-prince-episode-10/132701

2 thoughts on “Day 7 of 30 Day Kdrama Challenge

  1. YES. YES YES YES. One of the best lines of that whole series!!! I’m fairly certain I melted into a puddle of happiness when it came to that line. Ahhhh Han Kyul….

    And no, you getting into series like that is not cheesy in the least. Wait for my post on 49 Days (it’ll be up in the next week or two probably) where I tell the whole world how I cried for 3 hours straight at the end…

Leave a Reply

