My Girlfriend is a Gumiho…

I watched this drama on http://www.hulu.com

I guess I’m going to have to find a way to organize all of the dramas I feature on here, but since I’m new to blogging I’ll just have to figure that out as I go.  So anyway, I decided that over the next few weeks I will try to write up a short little synopsis and review on each of my top 10 dramas and explain why I like them and recommend them.  I will also be updating about the dramas I am currently watching.  So next after Coffee Prince on my list is My Girlfriend is a Gumiho (also called My Girlfriend is a Nine Tailed Fox).  This is a very heartfelt drama, but it also has the mystical element to it as it includes Korean mythology.  It is very funny, but has the right amount of drama and tear jerking moments as well.  You can’t help but love this drama because the main girl character is so darn cute!!

Synopsis:

Cha Tae Woong is a spoiled rich young man who does not know how to be responsible and take care of his own business.  One day his whole world is turned upside down when he accidentally releases a Gumiho (9 tailed fox demon) from the painting in which she was trapped.  Believing in all the old wives tales about Gumiho, Tae Woong is convinced that she wants to eat his liver and will do any task, no matter how far fetched, in order to keep his body in tact  Despite her exceptional beauty and infectious charm, he is determined to not fall for her wiles.  However, as his relationship with the girl grows, he finds that she may not be exactly who he thought she was.  This drama will reel you in with its humor and charm.  It is also really cool to see Korean mythology in action (although their special effects are definitely not on par with ours lol).  This old school/new school combination makes it a little different from a lot of other dramas out there. I couldn’t stop watching it and my husband even really enjoyed this one!!

Image

The tails were really obviously computer animated, but still cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

